Transgenderism, the national delusion

Today, May 13th 2016, it was announced on the news that every school district in the country, all 14,000 of them had to accept the delusion of all “transgenders”. (How appropriate to put this out on Friday the 13th.) I note that the spell check says transgenders is not a word. That’s because there is actually no such thing as trangender.  One’s gender is determined at the cellular level.  Every cell of you body is marked as to what gender you are. So anyone who thinks they are suddenly, or gradually, the other gender is suffering from a delusion.

But apparently not any longer, because the federal government has now declared that a transgender’s delusion must be shared by all.

Let’s practice.

“POP”. Hey, I’m a woman. Cool, I’m a bearded woman. I think I now have guaranteed employment at the circus.

“POP” oops, I slipped back.

“POP” where’s my purse? Did I have  a chance to shop the last time I was a woman?

“POP” Dang, I wasn’t even trying that time.

“POP” I’m going to need more clothes.

“POP” No I’m not.

Lest any of you want to call me a bigot, please remember that I was a transgender three times in this article.

14 thoughts on “Transgenderism, the national delusion

  1. Normally I’m levelheaded in my post responses, but I feel the need to say, you are right. You are not a bigot. You are ignorant. Transgender is a word. Transgendered is not. A persons sex is related to the cells in their body, gender is not. People who are Transgender do not one day choose the life we live, we choose to be the person we have hidden from the world because of people like you. We suffer for that choice because of people like you. You don’t know me, or others like me, but you’ve chosen to arbitrarily place value judgements on my Gender, based on my sex. It saddens me that people such as yourself are so shallow.

    Like

    • Look up “argumentum ad hominem”.

      I have read an account of a man who tried to change himself into a woman, and then got some help and resumed his life as a man. I suggest you look into this before going down the transgender path. This physical change to your body won’t help fix the underlying problem. Please try to get some help rather than ruining your life to give in to your delusions.

      There’s a reason you don’t want to tell everyone. I’m not sure what that reason is, but there’s at least a small part of you who knows this isn’t the right thing to do. Don’t throw away your chance of a life of happiness by going down this path.

      The media is thumping their drum about how wonderful it is to be transgender and how you can be empowered or whatever. That, like all media spouting, is total and complete bullshit. You can never be a woman. NEVER. Look at research on transgender suicide rates. Becoming transgender might make you happier, but I suspect you can become truly happy when you overcome your desire to be a woman an instead embrace the man that you are and move forward.

      Like

  2. “Every cell of you body is marked as to what gender you are.”

    I’m going to assume here that by ‘gender’ you mean ‘sex.’ (gender is typically used in academia to refer to the psychosocial aspects of maleness/femaleness, while sex refers only to the biological). In which case, things are actually a little more complicated than that. For one thing, there are a number of chromosomal abnormalities that occur in humans, such that a person could end up with X, XXY, XYY, XXYY, or similar combinations of sex chromosomes, instead of the usual XX or XY. These are generally recognized as intersex conditions (X is the sex chromosome of someone with Turner’s syndrome, XXY is Klinefelter’s syndrome, and I’ve forgotten the name that goes with XYY). There are a number of other intersex conditions which occur as a result of hormonal abnormalities. For instance, people with complete androgen insensitivity syndrome have XY chromosomes but develop anatomically as females because they are insensitive to testosterone (during prenatal development, it is the presence of testosterone which causes a fetus to develop male anatomy, and in the absence of testosterone, the fetus will develop female anatomy).

    And then we have chimerism and mosaicism. Chimerism occurs when two embryos fuse shortly after fertilization and develop into one human, who has one set of chromosomes in some of their cells, and a different set in others. Mosaicism is similar, but is instead caused by a mutation in one of the cells of the embryo during early development. Either one of these conditions may result in a person who has XY chromosomes in some of their cells and XX chromosomes in other. This may or may not cause an intersex condition.

    “So anyone who thinks they are suddenly, or gradually, the other gender is suffering from a delusion.”

    The technical term is gender dysphoria, not delusion. It used to be called gender identity disorder, but this was changed to gender dysphoria in the DSM-V. Delusions are a typical symptom of schizophrenia and are not included in the diagnostic criteria for gender dysphoria. Though if a person had both gender dysphoria and schizophrenia (or another mental illness in which delusions can occur), I suppose it would be accurate to say that they suffer from delusions, if they are currently experiencing that symptom.

    “I note that the spell check says transgenders is not a word. That’s because there is actually no such thing as trangender.”

    My spell checker says dysphoria, chimerism, intersex, and mosaicism are not words. I think spell checkers are probably not good tools to find out what is or isn’t a word. Although, it might just be that we both need better quality spell checkers.

    You are right that ‘transgenders’ is not a word, though. This is because ‘transgender’ is an adjective, not a noun, and adjectives do not have plural forms. ‘Transgender people’ would be the grammatically correct way to refer to multiple people who are transgender.

    Like

    • A nice grammar lesson, but not an argument. I’ll stick with “delusion” thank you because if you are a man who think’s he’s a woman that’s a delusion.

      Like

      • The main point of my argument is that ‘man’ and ‘woman’ are not clear-cut, black and white categories. The grammar lesson was an afterthought. But if that’s what you want to focus on, then okay.

        Your insistence in using the word ‘delusion’ in this case reminds me of nothing so much as the atheists who insist that religious beliefs are delusions. I’m an atheist, and these people still annoy the heck out of me. It’s a misuse of the word ‘delusion’ and it misrepresents religious beliefs. Your use of ‘delusion’ here is similar.

        A delusion is a belief which is contrary to what is generally accepted as true in a person’s culture and which is held in spite of clear evidence to the contrary. The existence of transgender people as being the gender they identify as is widely accepted in some places. A couple of examples are the LGBT subculture and the profession of psychology (members of which developed the DSM-V and WPATH standards of care). Similarly, religious beliefs are widely accepted within a religious community. This is sufficient to disqualify both religious beliefs and being transgender as delusions.

        Secondly, while some religious beliefs may be held despite clear evidence to the contrary (e.g. members of a doomsday cult continuing to believe after the prophesied time of the apocalypse has come and gone) and still not be classified as delusions, for transgender people, there is not clear evidence that they are not the gender they identify as. Here, it is important to distinguish between sex and gender. The two terms are not interchangeable in this case. Sex refers solely to biological characteristics, while gender refers to the psychosocial. Transgender people are acutely (and often distressingly) aware of their physical sex characteristics. They have no delusions about which parts they have. It’s just that those parts don’t match the gender that their brain tells them they are.

        To further clarify, gender identity is not something which a person chooses. There is evidence supporting the idea that gender identity is innate and cannot be easily changed (if it can be changed at all). The famous case of David Reimer is often cited to support this, but the failure of reparative therapy to change transgender people’s gender identities also supports this. In addition, there are some studies which have found physical differences between the brains of males and females, and there is at least one study which found that the brains of trans women are more like those of cis women than cis men. While more research is needed in this area, it is not a stretch to suppose that someone who is transgender may have literally ended up with a brain that does not match the rest of their body, possibly due to such causes as exposure to unusual amounts of sex hormones during specific stages of prenatal development.

        Anyway, if you’re interested, I can try to look up citations for the studies which I have mentioned. It’s been a while since I read them, so I don’t have the citations immediately on hand, but I certainly wouldn’t expect you to just take my word for it.

        Like

      • I consider gender to be black and white, man or woman. Definition I found says “1.the state of being male or female”.

        We can agree to disagree on that as I don’t think I can win you over.

        Now as to what exactly goes wrong to make someone think they are the gender not matching their bodies, seems like not much understood on that. I did a little research and it looks like what’s happening is that when you say “I’m a ____ but think I’m a _____” they pretty much say “Well we’ll just change your gender to the one you want.” end of discussion. I believe this is the wrongest possible answer. I’m positive women taking testosterone ruins their chances to have children, and suspect there’s problems for men as well. And this solution doesn’t treat the underlying mental problem.

        I think a better route to happiness than changing genders is to somehow accept the one you were born with. That leaves the path open for children and the joy they bring.

        Sorry to hear you’re an atheist. God loves you and wants you to be happy, in this life and the next one.

        Like

      • Well alright, you can ignore the many and various exceptions to the idea that gender is black and white if you want to. That’s a pretty fallacious approach in my opinion, but I can’t force you to listen. My offer to look up those citations for you is still open, though.

        “I did a little research and it looks like what’s happening is that when you say ‘I’m a ____ but think I’m a _____’ they pretty much say ‘Well we’ll just change your gender to the one you want.’ end of discussion.”

        I don’t know what you found in your research (though I am curious about your sources, if you wouldn’t mind sharing them), but that’s really not how it works in the vast majority of cases. I’d suggest looking up the WPATH standards of care. Many of their recommendations require attending therapy, getting therapist’s letters, and going through a ‘real life experience’ lasting several months before being able to get various procedures. These are not necessarily followed religiously in all circumstances, but it is certainly not a trivial matter to change the gender marker on one’s drivers’ license or birth certificate, to change one’s name, to get a prescription for hormone replacement therapy, to get any of the various surgeries associated with transition, or even to find a therapist who works with clients who have gender dysphoria.

        “Sorry to hear you’re an atheist. God loves you and wants you to be happy, in this life and the next one.”

        You do realize how condescending this sounds, right?

        Like

      • Here’s one source:

        http://www.chrisspagani.com/gender/index.html

        and while I was searching, the vast majority of search engine responses were about gender reassignment.

        You say “Well alright, you can ignore the many and various exceptions to the idea that gender is black and white if you want to. That’s a pretty fallacious approach in my opinion, but I can’t force you to listen. My offer to look up those citations for you is still open, though.” Send your sources, and I’ll take a look.

        Truly surprised to hear my response about your atheism was condescending. So I’m sitting here thinking about it. I suppose you are thinking that I think you are wrong or incorrect in some way in being an atheist. Or perhaps it could be taken as criticism. So let me clarify. I don’t believe you are incorrect, or not entitled to your choice. I also know why so many people end up as atheists. I just think you might be missing out. Christianity can be a powerful tool to help you be happy in this life. It provides comfort and a spiritual ally when you are alone or in crisis.

        quite enjoying our conversation

        Like

      • It took me a while to put together a list of sources to support my main points, but here you go.

        The World Professional Association for Transgender Health’s Standards of Care (WPATH SOC):
        http://www.wpath.org/uploaded_files/140/files/Standards%20of%20Care,%20V7%20Full%20Book.pdf

        Unsurprisingly, the most restrictive recommendations in the WPATH SOC are those for surgeries. For some of those, they recommend requiring a period of 12 months beforehand of either hormone replacement therapy or living full time as the gender the person identifies as. For all medical interventions, however, they do list among the recommended criteria that the person’s gender dysphoria be both persistent and documented by a mental health professional.

        A couple of studies comparing trans and cis brains:
        http://press.endocrine.org/doi/full/10.1210/jcem.85.5.6564
        http://www.jsm.jsexmed.org/article/S1743-6095%2815%2933019-8/fulltext

        A site with more information about intersex:
        http://www.isna.org/faq/what_is_intersex

        Info on David Reimer:
        http://www.isna.org/faq/reimer
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Reimer

        On ‘conversion therapy’:
        http://store.samhsa.gov/shin/content/SMA15-4928/SMA15-4928.pdf

        I had quite a bit of difficulty trying to find a study on the success or failure of ‘conversion therapy’ to change a person’s gender identity, which made sense after I found this point in the above document:

        “There is a lack of published research on efforts to change gender identity among children and
        adolescents; no existing research supports that mental health and behavioral interventions with
        children and adolescents alter gender identity.”

        If there were research to support that gender identity can be changed by conversion therapy, I doubt it would be so difficult to find. The people who support conversion therapy would be waving it in everyone’s faces.

        “Truly surprised to hear my response about your atheism was condescending. So I’m sitting here thinking about it. I suppose you are thinking that I think you are wrong or incorrect in some way in being an atheist. Or perhaps it could be taken as criticism.”

        When I initially replied, I was considering just reflecting your response back at you and saying “I’m sorry to hear you’re a Christian,” so you could consider your own reactions to such a statement. But, I’m not sorry to hear you’re a Christian. Honestly, I don’t care what people believe, unless they’re hurting others because of it. So… cool. Glad you find comfort in it.

        I don’t have any issue with you thinking I am wrong or criticizing me, as long as it is done in a respectful manner. We disagree over things. Of course we each think the other is wrong. What I don’t like is the implication that being an atheist is something to be pitied for. I’m glad I’m an atheist, though that may seem weird to you.

        If I am a bit quick to assume a Christian is condescending to me about my atheism… well, it’s just happened to me so many times before.

        Like

      • WPATH states:

        Often with the help of psychotherapy, some individuals integrate their trans- or cross-gender feelings into the gender role they were assigned at birth and do not feel the need to feminize or masculinize their body

        SAMHSA states:

        Given that conversion therapy is not an appropriate
        therapeutic intervention; efforts should be taken
        to end the practice of conversion therapy. Efforts
        to end the practice have included policy efforts to
        reduce the negative attitudes and discrimination
        directed at LGBTQ individuals and families;
        affirmative public information about LGBTQ
        individuals, particularly directed at families and
        youth; resolutions and guidelines by professional
        associations to inform providers that conversion
        efforts are inappropriate and to provide guidance
        on appropriate interventions; and, state and federal
        legislation and legal action to end the practice of
        conversion therapy. Future efforts may include
        improved provider training, federal regulatory
        action, advancement of legislation at the state
        and federal level, and additional activities by the
        Administration, which issued a public statement
        supporting efforts to ban the use of conversion
        therapy for minors in the spring of 2015.

        Looks like the federal government is pushing for the sex change solution to me. I read through some of the problems with hormone therapy and that doesn’t look like any fun, never mind the surgery. So, it does seem to me that the push is for sex change as opposed to helping people be comfortable in their own skin.

        As far as intersex, I understand people have abnormalities. I don’t see an issue here.

        Some people say they are neither male nor female but something else. This seems to be the “range of gender” you are talking about. I don’t think that means there is a 3rd, 4th or 5th gender just because some people think they are that gender. I still think gender goes with male/female. I understand there are some people thinking that perhaps they are both or neither, but that doesn’t make it so.

        I’m wondering what fraction of dysphoric people “want” to be the other sex. as opposed to “believe” they are the other sex.

        Like

      • Conversion therapy is a very specific type of ‘therapy’ that is actively harmful to people. It is not what is being referred to in your quote from the WPATH SOC. In fact, the WPATH SOC takes a position against conversion therapy:

        “Treatment aimed at trying to change a person’s gender identity and lived gender expression to
        become more congruent with sex assigned at birth has been attempted in the past (Gelder &
        Marks, 1969; Greenson, 1964), yet without success, particularly in the long-term (Cohen-Kettenis
        & Kuiper, 1984; Pauly, 1965). Such treatment is no longer considered ethical.”

        See also:
        http://www.livescience.com/50453-why-gay-conversion-therapy-harmful.html
        http://www.upworthy.com/a-dangerous-form-of-therapy-that-believe-it-or-not-is-legal-in-48-states

        Also from the SAMHSA document:

        “Behavioral health providers should not have an
        a priori
        goal for sexual orientation or gender
        expression, or identity outcomes. The goal of
        treatment should be the best level of psychological
        functioning not a specific orientation or identity.
        Rather, behavioral health providers should focus on
        identity development and exploration that allows the
        child or adolescent the freedom of self-discovery
        within a context of acceptance and support.”

        and

        “Interventions aimed at a fixed outcome,
        such as gender conformity or heterosexual
        orientation, including those aimed at changing
        gender identity, gender expression, and sexual
        orientation are coercive, can be harmful,
        and should not be part of behavioral health
        treatment.”

        Anyway, do you know what page of the SOC that bit you quoted is on? I looked for it but couldn’t find it. I also remember something else I wanted to quote from reading it earlier, but I can’t find that again, either, and I think they might both be in the same section.

        “So, it does seem to me that the push is for sex change as opposed to helping people be comfortable in their own skin.”

        It seems to me that the push is towards letting people make their own choices about how they want to deal with their gender dysphoria, while also trying to make sure that those people who do get access to treatments such as hormones or surgeries are not likely to change their minds about it afterwards. And regret after transition related surgeries is actually very uncommon. See: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/brynn-tannehill/myths-about-transition-regrets_b_6160626.html

        And of course the medical treatments have associated risks and costs. The same is true for any medical treatment. And, same as any other kind of medical treatment, it is only done when the benefits outweigh the costs. In fact, that’s pretty much the only reason people transition–because they’ve decided that transitioning, even with all the stigma, hassles, loss of family/friends, discrimination, medical risks, costs of a new wardrobe, etc., is better than not transitioning, because their gender dysphoria is that bad. And, frequently, people who transition have tried very hard to find some way to be happy without transitioning, often for years or decades, and have not been successful. Some people may be able to find ways to resolve their gender dysphoria without making any changes to their bodies, sure, but not everyone can. And if medical transition is what they need to feel comfortable in their own skin, then why shouldn’t they do that?

        Like

      • To review, the WPATH treatment document states:

        Often with the help of psychotherapy, some individuals integrate their trans- or cross-gender feelings into the gender role they were assigned at birth and do not feel the need to feminize or masculinize their body

        This is really what conversion/ reparative therapy means in the transgender world. One of your sources has a man who wants his desire to be a woman to just go away. However, you list several sources that are controlled by the LGBT side (samhsa, facebook, and huff po) who say conversion /reparative therapy are BAD, BAD, BAD. I spent some time researching and it became apparent that the LGB portion of the LGBT world really hates conversion/reparative treatment because 1. They like who they are as they are and just want to be accepted as is. They just don’t want to be straight. 2. Some practitioners of this therapy probably did it poorly, and without putting the needs of the patient first. (The studies you mention are in the ‘60’s which is quite a while ago) They also say it doesn’t work and maybe it doesn’t for LGB, but they have effectively pushed it out as a treatment option for everyone. So, for the T part of the LGBT alliance it really isn’t much of an option. What does this leave? The only option left then, as far as I can see, is to start transitioning.

        So I agree with you here, people should be allowed their own choice, but the option of living with your birth gender seems to have been removed as an option. You use the words “harmful”, “without success”, “not ethical”

        Can you point to a solution that is not” transitioning”? I can’t find one. All that is now allowed is “focus on identity development and exploration that allows the child or adolescent the freedom of self-discovery” because health professionals can’t perform “Interventions aimed at a fixed outcome, such as gender conformity or heterosexual orientation, including those aimed at changing gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation are coercive, can be harmful, and should not be part of behavioral health treatment.” Now if some counselor says something like “Johnny, are you sure there’s not a little boy in there somewhere?” he’s going to get his ass sued off. It doesn’t look like they are allowed to even try to make someone comfortable with their birth gender. Do you disagree?

        It’s hard enough to be happy with low employment, wars, natural disasters, layoffs, divorces, and so on. So now for some portion of the population we’re leading them down the path of self sterilization, which will take away the happiness of having their own children. Maybe they can still be happy, but it’s only making it more difficult.

        Like

    • The left is no longer able to listen. They now have a “hive mind” all thinking the same things no matter how ridiculous. All dissent labeled as “racist, bigoted, homophobic, islamophobic etc.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

